Featured: Brittany @ Nice Girls Read Books

Our first featured blog is our moderator/creator Brittany at Nice Girls Read Books (me! Yay!). Keep an eye out for upcoming featured Aussie YA Blogs!

Blog: Nice Girls Read Books
Name: Brittany
Age: 25
State: Queensland (South East)

How long have you been blogging? I began my blog back in September, 2010. I have always been good at blogging quite regularly since then, but did have a one year or so absence that I’ve recently come back from due to a new job, study, etc.

Other than reviews, what can we expect to see at your blog?
I do a whole lot of reviews – but I also do posts such as ‘Mouth Watering Monday’ showcasing some of my favourite covers weekly. I also participate in hops such as Follow Friday, Teaser Tuesday or whatever strikes. I also do write-ups of the bookish events I attend and host giveaways.

What are some of the highlights of your blogging career? I would have to say my main highlight was being one of the first reader/reviewers of Jessica Shirvington’s debut novel, Embrace. I immediately fell in love with it and became good friends with the YA Aussie author. We finally got to meet last month after many years! It was fantastic to meet her and also be recognised for my blogging achievements!

Share with us some of your favourite genres: I absolutely love anything fantasy/supernatural when it comes to my YA reading. I must admit, however, that I’ve become quite cynical when it comes to new fantasy/supernatural reads as I’ve read so many and it’s so hard to find something unique and refreshing. HOWEVER, I am still blown away by really great reads. I’ve also been on the lookout for that perfect mermaid novel… sadly, I haven’t found it yet.

I also enjoy some contemporary to mix it up now and then, and historical-themed YA is also another genre I enjoy. Dystopians are good too, but they have to have quite an original premise for me to go into them. A little over the huge influx of dystopians lately.

Share with us some of your favourite books/series:


The Gemma Doyle Trilogy by Libba Bray
The Violet Eden Chapters by Jessica Shirvington
The Elementals Series by Brigid Kemmerer
The Wolves of Mercy Falls Series by Maggie Stiefvater
Anna & the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Where else can we find you?
Twitter: nicegirlsread
Goodreads: seekerish
Bloglovin: Nice Girls Read Books
Facebook: Nice Girls Read Books

Visit Nice Girls Read Books

2 thoughts on “Featured: Brittany @ Nice Girls Read Books

  1. Kelly says:

    Great profile, but curious to know which books you’ve really disliked, and also what you look for in a blog that you find interesting (other than your own of course).

    1. Brittany @ Nice Girls Read says:

      In my blogging career I’ve really disliked: ‘Wrecked’ by Anna Davies, ‘The Near Witch’ by Karen Mahoney and a few others. There are a LOT I really disappointed by due to the hype, too… such as more recently, ‘Pushing the Limits’ by Katie McGarry.

      I love finding blogs with clean, unique designs – I must admit it’s the look of the blog that makes me follow it! I really love when you can see how much effort the blogger has put in to being organised for their readers, too – such as tagging properly, keeping their reviews uniform and sorting! Probably a weird thing to notice, yes, but I actually do!

Leave a Reply

